Handmade Hive · Uncategorized

A Self-Diagnosed Clicker

I’m a clicker!  You know…I view an article, blog, website, Facebook…it has links…and click, click, click.  Before I know it, I have about 10 tabs open at the top of my toolbar.

My opinion is those links were put there for a reason and since I’m obsessed with clicking…What’s a gal to do?  I’m going to find out where those links will take me.

Turns out, I’ve found some really neat websites from all that clicking.  Here are just a few of my favorites (links, of course, included) that I’d like to share with you, in no particular order.  But first, an important message:


*Full Disclosure: I have no material relationship to any brand or person mention in this post, except for anything related to the Handmade Hive brand, which is my own business.  Just my good-old-fashion opinion being shared!  Any website links, except for Handmade Hive, that I’ve shared are for reference only and are not affiliated with Handmade Hive.  They may also contain material, thoughts, opinions and further links that do not not express the views or opinions of Handmade Hive or its owner. 


Now that I’ve gotten that out of the way, here we go…

For me, there’s nothing like walking into a fabric shop and looking at and touching fabric.  I love making that personal, tactile, visual connection.  Since I can’t realistically go to a fabric shop everyday to get my fabric-love-bank filled, I’m loving this fabric website I found while I was reading a post Abby Glassenberg from, While She Naps wrote for Sew Mama Sew. It’s called Hawthorne Threads and their Hawthorne brand specializes in making digitally printed fabric in a small town in Upstate New York.

via Hawthorne Threads

Ahh…just got lost again over at their website dreaming of sewing projects…it’s so beautiful and unique! A must see for all you fabric lovers out there.  (By the way, what got me hooked to While She Naps website is a series called The Pattern That Changed My Life that features the stories of 21 women and how a “particular pattern, book or workshop changed their creative trajectories.”  So inspiring!!!)

Another blog I’ve really come to enjoy following after clicking on a FB share is a called Christina’s Adventures.  Christina and her crew are remodeling a beautiful 1902 Victorian.

Christinas-Adventures-DIY-Farmhouse-Kitchen-Makeover_thumb
via Christina’s Adventures

The designer in me loves reading about the remodel (especially the kitchen) and it’s been so much fun watching the visual transformation through Christina’s Adventures on Instagram as well.  She also shares valuable insights on Home Decor, Crafts, Recipes and lots of great DIY projects.

Unmistakable Creative is a podcast that features real life conversations/interviews on life, leadership,  with people who are unmistakably creative and have done some pretty unmistakably creative things.

unmistakablecreative
via Unmistakable Creative

I visited this website and started listening to the podcast after listening to a Creative Live podcast called Profit.Power.Pursuit. hosted by Tara Gentile.  Just finished listening to Matt & Eva Webb talk about How Kids Can Have a Profound Impact on the World.  If you liked listening to that, you may also find value in this blog post called: Lessons Learned While Ministering to Young People by my friend Heather Evans.

I can’t remember how I stumbled upon Design*Sponge, but it was definitely in the process of working on my business plan for Handmade Hive.  I especially found (and still find) great wisdom and inspiration in the Life & Business section.

For natural living, my two favorite go-to sites are MamaNatural and HolisticSquid.

There are so many more nuggets I’d love to share (maybe in another post), but lastly, one thing I just recently added to my bucket list, thanks again to Abby Glassenburg’s website…attending a Makerie creative retreat.

makerie
via The Makerie

The website describes it like this – “a place of warmth, the Makerie is a creative retreat for everyone, a time to play, a place to find quiet, a setting to be inspired, a space to learn, a loving creative community, a gathering you might never forget.”  AHHH…this video…sign me up!!

 

How about you?  Have you stumbled upon any great websites that you’d like to share?  Please do so in the comment section below!

If you like what you’ve read, we’d love it if you used one of the share buttons below!

Leave a Reply

