Meet The Artists · Uncategorized

Meet The Artist – Go Carr Go

Today in our Meet the Artist post, I’m going to introduce you to Kathryn Carr.  She is the owner, operator and designer behind the Pittsburgh based greeting card company – Go Carr Go.

photo_in_an_oval_large

I’m always intrigued about where I’m going to meet or find the businesses that we feature each month and I found Kathryn’s business through a Facebook group for Aeolidia!

Kathryn has been paper cutting since 2008 and is a self-taught artist and turned her attention towards this art form because she was drawn to the bold imagery of the paper cut silhouette and the intriguing shadows they cast.

Our theme for May is “Down to Earth” and all of the items were inspired by nature so it only made sense that we would feature Kathryn’s Robin Egg Greeting Card in our box this month!

Let’s meet Kathryn and Go Carr Go:

+++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

Tell us a little about yourself…

My favorite occasional indulgence is a marzipan filled pastry.

It might have something to do being born in Seattle, but I usually always prefer a drizzly, cloudy, overcast day over a sunny one… (unless I’m doing an outdoor art show).

There was a time in my life when I was “bipolar”… I lived in Alaska then went and moved to Florida. Now, I currently live and work in Pittsburgh, PA.

My nemesis is Styrofoam!  The sound and texture has always sent shivers through my whole body.

When I was a little girl I had the chance to go to the set of Sesame Street in NY and had the choice to meet either Kermit the Frog or Cookie Monster….

Why open a store called ?

I don’t have a brick and mortar shop but my business name is Go Carr Go.  I wanted to use my own name in some form or fashion and wanted something fun, clever, and a bit catchy.

 

What is your specialty?

My specialty is paper cut silhouette art.  I’ve been working with this medium since 2008.  My style is rather whimsical, the buildings curve and sway, the characters (mostly animals) have anthropomorphic traits, and I try and portray a sense of movement and flow in my designs.

GOCARRGOLaundryDay
Laundry Day Greeting Card

Where does your inspiration come from?

I am inspired by the German style of paper cutting called Scherenschnitte. (pronounced: sher-en-snitt-tah) and means scissor snips.

It tends to depict scenes from everyday life.  I also feel so much of my imagery has blossomed from the storybooks from my childhood. Much of my work has an illustrative quality and tends to feel like it is page from a picture book.

Armadillo_and_Hedgehog_copy_grande
Armadillo and Hedgehog Greeting Card

 

Where would you like to be in 5 years?

Well, career wise I would still like to be a full time paper cut artist. I would like to be creating and showing  large scale gallery pieces, do more children’s books and expand my wholesale greeting card territory and be able to travel around the world with my work.  I would want to be able to afford to have a team of people  working with me to handle the day to day operations of running my business.

What does handmade mean to you?

Handmade to me is all about the personal creative process and the thoughtful journey of making something using ones own skills.

Summer_in_San_Fran_copy_grande
Summer In San Fran Greeting Card

What is the best part about being a designer/builder/artist/crafter?

To me the best thing about being a working artist is that there is nothing I would prefer doing then what I am doing now….  I just couldn’t see myself doing anything else!

If you could spend time with an influential designer/artist, who would it be?

Wes Anderson.  I am enthralled with his movies.  I enjoy the way he tells a story, the clever design work, and the sense of humor and melancholy that is woven throughout the scenes.

How do you primarily sell your products?  Online, in store, etc?

It is a total mix of sales funnels. Most of my greeting cards are sold through wholesale accounts.

I work with mostly local Pittsburgh area shops under consignment selling original art, cards, prints and new products that I want to test the market for.

I have one picture book published that sells at bookshops and Amazon.  

Occasionally I’ll do some commission paper cut art for individuals or businesses.  I am doing less art fairs and shows this year and focusing more on the online sales on my website.  It is a total juggling act!

life_on_the_farm_copy_grande
Life on the Farm Greeting Card

 

What is one thing you wish people knew about “the handmade life”?

I don’t think most people realize how much work goes into a finished piece of art. The time it takes to plan making it, to actually make an item, packaging, promotion, and all the other logistics of getting a handmade piece of art out to the world.

What would you like people to know about why it’s important to support the local community/local artists?

I think it is important because when people buy local art and shop at local stores they help shape a sense of  pride and uniqueness to a community.

Anything else you would like to add?

It was a tough choice but I decided to meet Cookie Monster.

GOCARRGOCookieMonster
Kathryn and Cookie Monster – circa early 1970

+++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

I hope you take the time to visit Kathryn’s Facebook Page and follow her there as well as on Instagram.  She also has a really nice Pinterest page with some great color coded boards that are just beautiful to look at…I’m partial to the Lanthine one ;o)

Looking forward to introducing you to our next small business – Skincando – and the amazing product that we featured in our box this month!

Violetta Markelou Photography 2011

Until next time –

Courtney

Leave a Reply

